Home

CORONAVIRUS INFORMATION

We have posted several documents and resources for IAWMH members.


CLICK HERE FOR A FLYER ABOUT THE COVID-19 WEBINAR & REGISTRATION INFORMATION!

JOIN US ON FRIDAY 24 JULY 2020 FOR
IAWMH’s WEBINAR ON COVID-19!

THE PRICE OF A PANDEMIC FOR
WOMEN’S MENTAL HEALTH


In order to meet the global time zones across the day the Covid-19 webinar will be presented at 11:00am UTC.  This corresponds to the following times from which you may determine your own time zone on Friday 24 July 2020:

London, UK – 12:00noon – 2:00pm
Paris, France – 1:00pm – 3:00pm
Bangalore, India – 4:30pm – 6:30pm
Melbourne, Australia – 9:00pm – 11:00pm
Quito, Ecuador – 6:00am – 8:00am
New York, US – 7:00am – 8:00am
Chicago, US – 6:00am – 8:00am
Jerusalem, Israel – 2:00pm – 4:00pm

Sketched by Dr. Vandita Shanbag

2019-2021 IAWMH Leadership - - - From right: Helen Herrman, Past President, 2015-2017; Florence Thibaut, President; Prabha Chandra, President-elect; Jayashri Kulkarni, Immediate Past President; Susan Kornstein, Treasurer; Debby Tucker, Executive Director

WHO WE ARE

Established in 2001 to improve the mental health of women throughout the world, the International Association for Women’s Mental Health is a Not for Profit, Non-Governmental Organization.

IAWMH is designated by the US Internal Revenue Service as a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. The association files financial reports with the IRS according to the law.

INTERNATIONAL WOMEN’S DAY 2020

This International Women’s Day, let’s take a chance to reflect on the reality of women’s lives across the world!

The theme for IWD 2020 is #EachforEqual for women’s rights and an egalitarian future.

Women & girls want to end barriers and discrimination based on their gender:

  • Fight stereotypes
  • Fight against all forms of violence
  • Celebrate all women’s achievements

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development adopted by world leaders includes achieving gender equality and women’s empowerment. Sustainable development means gender equality (Goal Number 5).

Fulfilling this right is the best chance we have in meeting some of the most pressing challenges of our time-from economic crisis and lack of health care, to climate change, violence against women and escalating conflicts. However insufficient progress on structural issues at the root of gender inequality such as legal discrimination, unfair social norms and attitudes, decision making on sexual and reproductive issues and low level of political participation are undermining the ability to achieve SDG 5 (UN Women).

The Global Gender Gap Report 2020 indicates that none of us will see gender parity in our lifetimes and nor will many of our children and that gender parity will not be attained for 99.5 years!

Dwell on the fact that even in 2020 there are 72 countries where women are barred from opening bank accounts or obtaining credit.

Look at the Gender Social Norms Index 2020 released by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) which measures how social beliefs obstruct gender equality. The finding was that close to 90 percent of men and women hold some sort of bias against women.

We have reached parity in primary school enrollment and reduced maternal mortality, but 28% of people still feel it is justified for a man to beat his wife!

This is an important year- 2020 marks the 25th anniversary of the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action (Beijing+25) for women’s rights.

On behalf of the IAWMH, let’s take a pledge that this International Women’s Day, we will recognize the role that gender equity and social norms have on women’s mental health. We will strive through research, advocacy, knowledge sharing and policies towards ensuring that every woman and girl child in the world realizes their potential and that we make efforts to remove barriers towards women attaining mental health and well being!

Passionate about gender equity in Mental Health:

Join us at the 9th World Congress on Women’s Mental Health in Melbourne Australia in March 2021.

Best regards from your IAWMH Leadership!

JOIN IAWMH

Come be a part of this vibrant community. As a member of the International Association for Women’s Mental Health you will be part our crucial mission to improve the mental health of women throughout the world, and to promote gender-sensitive and autonomy-enhancing mental health services for women.

IAWMH members network with professional colleagues representing multiple disciplines such as psychiatrists, psychologists, obstetrician/gynecologists, midwives, nurses, social workers, researchers, policy makers and academics.  We represent every continent except Antarctica so as a member you are part of a global network that also has professional depth. For more information on member benefits, click the link below.

Archives of Women’s Mental Health

Official Journal of IAWMH

DISCLAImer – IAWMH presents the World Congress on Women’s Mental Health, biennially and no other meetings or congresses are “official” IAWMH events.  When IAWMH is a cooperating organization it will be listed on our Upcoming Events page. The Conference on Gender and Violence in Chicago and Senegal is a SCAM and is not affiliated with IAWMH.